First catch your mouse

Since the original mouse has stopped working on this laptop we now have a substitute mouse, called Mouse-k, which you have to install before you can use it.  This is a fairly (for me) complicated procedure which is made more complicated by the fact that there is no mouse.  LOL.  I think Kafka would have written about computers had he been alive now.  Once you’ve caught the mouse you can navigate (I’m fairly confident that’s the word) with the use of cursor keys – or, when they don’t work as well, curser keys (‘up a bit, right a bit, down a bit – no, that’s too far!  **** it!’  Etc.  Anyway it’s working now and I can almost use it successfully.

Great night last night at the Western which, as I said, is rapidly becoming our local.  The poetry there is much more sociable than Word at the Y, being in a pub and not a theatre, and it has BEER!  Proper beer – about which I have blogged before.  I did two poems about places, which seemed to fit in well with an emerging theme: Vicarage Garden, about the house where I grew up, and Ode to the Upperton Rd Bridge, which is in the style of Wm McGonagall and went down a storm.  There were some good people up and even a couple of short stories, which was interesting.  Jonathan and Tony Walker came and I drank rather too much Billy Bitter.  I tend to stick to what I know and like these days, partly because I don’t have the money to experiment and partly because I am becoming an OLD FART, I suspect.

Also sent off another story yesterday (something has to get published soon) and working on another which will be ready in a week or so.

Today I shall be mostly… having a bath.  Oh, and Murray is through in straight sets.  Yay!

Kirk out

Leave a comment