Happy New Year

No, it’s not the Chinese New Year – and Eid was a month ago, so it’s not the Muslim one either.  So which New Year is it?  I’ll tell you in a minute…  But first, some truly excellent Dilbert-speak on the radio this morning by someone from Ford; phrases included ‘outsizing the product’, ‘capacity utilisation’, and – my personal favourite – ‘there’s reality out there’.  I love that one.  Compare and contrast with the original Dilbert:

http://www.dilbert.com/

Mm – the reality is out there, folks!

I don’t have many Thoughts this morning I’m afraid – in fact I had so few that I considered (shock, horror!) Actually Not Posting this morning!  Then I pictured the wave of international mourning that would sweep the civilised world; the wringing of hands, the tolling of bells, the – (that’s enough fantasy – Ed)

Oh, all right then.

But who’s Ed?  I thought there was nobody here but us chickens?

Which brings me to yesterday’s limerick:

That house hasn’t altered since Dickens

the tenth generation now quickens

and that’s how it was

the wizard of Boz

there’s nobody here but us chickens.

Bugger!  Just realised I put that in yesterday.  Oh, well – you can’t have too much of a good thing.  I quite like ‘the wizard of Boz’ – ‘Boz’ being, in case you didn’t know, Dickens’ pen-name before he became well-known:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sketches_by_Boz

Which in turn reminds me of another item on today’s – er, ‘Today’ – about Roald Dahl’s shed.  They are appealing for funds to preserve it since that’s where he wrote his books.  Fine, except that, as many people have pointed out, his books sold millions so couldn’t his family cough up a little?

Or are they all Augustus Gloops?

Mm…  I know at least one of them is a famous model, though I didn’t realise till today that Sophie Dahl was any relation.  Sorry, Dahls – my money stays in the bank.

Except that actually my bank account is overdrawn.  Though I haven’t quite reached the stage a friend of ours once attained (you know who you are) where the bank wrote a letter asking him to bank with them rather than them banking with him!

It’s true – I saw the letter.

And so – have you got it yet?  The New Year?  Yes, it’s new year on Mars!  So Happy New Year to all our Martian friends – which I think currently number one ie Mark.  For he it was who told me – also commenting,’The moons don’t go round in a useful way.’

I rest my case.

Happy New Year Mark!

Kirk out