The Penguins Are Talking About Me Again

Now, as you guys all know, I’m not against atheism.  I think it’s a perfectly respectable – even logical – point of view in many ways: I also like many aspects of the secularist tradition.  What I don’t like is dogmatic – and what I might call sneering – atheism: the kind of atheism that not only mocks belief, but suggests you have to be an idiot to believe in God.  Viz someone on Facebook the other day who posted a link to Richard Dawkins.  I commented that I don’t like Dawkins because I find him dogmatic and intolerant: she responded that it’s better than believing in ‘invisible sky-wizards’.

So that’s me told… I commented that the phrase ‘invisible sky-wizards’ is kind of loaded and that I would wish for a more tolerant approach to the debate.  Still waiting on a reply…

Penguins are strangely anthropomorphic – I can’t help wondering if they believe in God.  The current BBC series on penguins is quite startlingly brilliant, even by the high standards of BBC nature programmes; they’ve developed some robot cameras which mimic penguins and eggs! so that for the first time we can see what happens inside when they all go into a huddle and talk about me.  (Oh, wait – that’s in rugby.)  They don’t make as much use of these cameras as I’d hoped, but the programmes are utterly fascinating. Go watch.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01qyh3t/Penguins_Spy_in_the_Huddle_First_Steps/

Some good news yesterday – I’ve had an acceptance from a magazine I sent stuff to a while ago.  When I looked up what it was, I saw I’d sent them a poem and a short story.  I emailed to ask which they were publishing: they said ‘both – they were very good.’  That gave me a boost…

And here’s the magazine – though not the relevant issue yet:

http://home.wtd-magazine.com/

I shall post a longer diatribe on atheism when I’m feeling a bit more together.

Kirk out

3 Comments

Filed under friends and family, God-bothering, poems, short stories, TV reviews

3 responses to “The Penguins Are Talking About Me Again

  1. First of all, congratulations on the acceptances – plural!

    Secondly, I am an agnostic. Because I cannot be sufficiently persuaded by either religious or atheistic arguments. Considering the amazing, exciting universe (metaphysics etc.) we live in, both seem inadequate. There are still more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than we have even dreamed of.

    Spock out

    • lizardyoga

      Thanks – and fair comment. Although I have beliefs I think it’s important to realise that belief is not knowledge

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

