Top Readers Recommend It

Here’s today’s top comment:

I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I come across a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the toe nail on the brain. Your concept is fantastic; the issue is something that not enough everyone is speaking wisely about. I’m very happy which i stumbled across this specific in my seek out something with this.

I love the idea of hitting the toe-nail on the brain…

So, I hope you like the new theme on the blog: I thought it was time I had something a bit more visual, so here it is.  It’s called – actually I can’t remember what it’s called but it reminds me a little of Victoria Park in Leicester.  There’s something very soothing but also symbolic about an avenue of trees: like an idea of a life-path or something like that.

If I seem less than coherent this morning it’s because I haven’t had enough sleep: I woke at 4.45 and couldn’t get back to dormancy at all, which was very annoying.  Some people manage on 5 or 6 hours, but I can’t: I can’t cope on less than eight.  It annoys the hell out of me, but there’s not much I can do about it.

So: today I was going to write about the Leicester music scene.  Now, not having much money, I am somewhat on the fringes of this as I can only go to free events.  But a lot of poetry now is coinciding with music, and so I’m getting to hear many more musicians, both of the variety that sit in the corner of the pub and play, and those that go along to a jam, an open mic or a ‘come-all-ye’.  In the last year or so I have gotten to know a number of Leicester musicians, including Ruthie Coles (who has recently played with Pattie Smith) Steve Cartwright and Sheila Mosley.  I previously knew Sheila as ‘that woman who sings at festivals’ since I always used to see her in places like Castle Gardens doing her bit as a troubadour.

Going up a rung or two, I’ve also gotten to know Chris Conway who is professional, and at Simon Says I heard a few local bands including By the Rivers who are seemingly quite successful.

So there you are.  It would be good to do more of this, I think.  Poetry and music are very close together as art-forms and I would really like to do more in the way of collaboration with musicians, especially since I’ve set a few of my poems to music.

Just contact my agent darlings…

Kirk out

PS  Oh, and in other news I don’t know if I mentioned that Holly got an A in English and a B in Graphics.  We are very happy with that…

Leave a comment

Filed under friends and family, money, music, poems

Leave a Reply

