I Know When I’m Mrs Beaten…

I’ve gone and done it – I’ve gone and taken out a M C Beaton from the library.  Normally I avoid these like a dark alleyway because they seem to be at the terribly twee end of crime; but people in the crime reading group seem to enjoy her, so I thought it was time I caught up with her work.  People at the crime reading group often refer to her as ‘Mrs Beeton’, which means I think that they are confusing her with the Victorian cookery writer.  Not that they can’t tell the difference between crime and cookery (though this series couldn’t:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0106102/

but that there’s an echo in their minds which, whenever a writer named ‘Beaton’ is mentioned, activates the title ‘Mrs.’  I’m pretty sure that’s what’s going on.  Still, a number of them seem to like her and to be honest I’m ready for something lighter after the dark stuff we’ve been reading.  The Nicci French (‘she’ is actually a pair of writers, one male and one female, who alternate chapters) was quite disturbing, being about a pair of snatched children – and whilst there was some redemption for the child who was found in time, the child who had been assigned a whole other identity and brought up as someone else, can never come home again to the self she used to be.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Blue-Monday-Frieda-Klein-Novel/dp/1405911425

I can’t think of anything worse than losing a child in that way – and Madeleine McCann is still missing.  Here’s where you can support:

http://www.findmadeleine.com/support/index.html

Sheesh!  Now I’ve made myself very depressed.  Let’s think of something cheerful – for as someone pointed out, in the midst of the most horrific line in all world literature, the inscription on the gate of hell in Dante’s Inferno, there is a ‘tra-la’:

per me si va tra la citta dolente…

So even in the darkest corner, as Dumbledore observed, there is something positive, if one only remembers to put on the light:

http://www.searchquotes.com/quotation/Happiness_can_be_found,_even_in_the_darkest_of_times,_if_one_only_remembers_to_turn_on_the_light./37399/

Kirk out

PS  Mark’s quote of the day: ‘I am going through a mid-life opportunity’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book reviews, friends and family, The madness of Mark, TV reviews

Leave a Reply

