Hegel, Don’t Bother Me

Mark was banging on about Hegel this morning, as he often does, especially his ideas on the subconscious – and I didn’t know what to say.  I mean, the subconscious is somewhat imponderable, isn’t it?  It’s like the unseen – as soon as you can see it, it’s not unseen any more.  What is the subconscious nowadays anyway?  Have you seen one?  Let me know…

I’ve got a new follower on this blog called Plutonium spray-paints.  I know they’re just following me in order to advertise their stuff, but the paints look brilliant; although I was somewhat worried about the title and whether they actually use weapons-grade plutonium in their making.  The implications of that would be quite disturbing and I would have to bring them to Bruce Kent’s attention when I see him tonight.  However, on further examination it seems that plutonium is just a name and that it’s a quick-drying type of acrylic spray paint.  So that’s all good.

That phrase reminds me that on the iplayer I have just started watching W1A.  I had no idea what this was and only clicked on it on a whim, but it turns out to be a sequel to ‘2012’ with the same characters and the same basic premise, only this time set at the Beeb.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0405yl7/W1A_Episode_3/

It’s a sort of Navy Lark de nos jours, where a bunch of incompetents with no real jobs pretend to be actually doing something and go around saying things like ‘yah, great’ and ‘so that’s all good.’  One of my favourite bits is the meeting-room, a sort of glass pod known as ‘Frankie Howerd’ which has a picture of the man on one wall and sayings like ‘Titter Ye Not’ sprayed on the glass.

Hmm.  Spray paint – there seems to be a theme emerging here.  Perhaps it was in my subconscious all along…

Kirk out

PS  And come along to see Bruce Kent tonight at the Secular Hall for his ‘No Faith in Trident’ tour.

http://www.cnduk.org/get-involved/events/item/1890-no-faith-in-trident-leicester

 

2 Comments

Filed under council and other tax, friends and family, philosophy, politics, The madness of Mark, TV reviews

2 responses to “Hegel, Don’t Bother Me

  1. Ana in “Fifty Shades of Grey” has a “subconscious” which tuts at her whilst her “inner goddess” gets turned on by … well, everything which the hideously egotistical self-centred Christian Grey does.

    It’s a very depressing trilogy.

  2. lizardyoga

    There’s a trilogy? 150 shades of grey? Hades indeed. I think the subconscious thing is the writer trying to have it both ways

Leave a Reply

