Ye’ll Have Had Yer Referendum…

Alas!  With a sigh it’s all over, and from being too close to call it’s gone to a decisive victory for Nay.  The best that can be said about it is that it was conclusive, and that nearly 100% of the electorate, including 16- and 17-year-olds, took part.  But it was 55%-45% in favour of not splitting, and the result, however disappointing, has to be respected: that’s democracy. What will be interesting now is to see how Salmond deals with it (he’s gone for quiet dignity at the moment: a wise decision) and how Cameron will negotiate the devo max promises he made, and get them past his party and the rest of the country.

My own feelings are somewhat mixed.  If I lived in Scotland I would have voted Yes, but I live in England, and the potential fall-out for a truncated country has to be considered.  So although I am disappointed for my Scottish friends, from a personal point of view I am relieved.

As far as writing goes, the memoir is nearly finished, and I am turning my thoughts to what I shall do for NaNoWriMo.

Kirk out

2 Comments

Filed under friends and family, nanowrimo, novels and longer works, politics

2 responses to “Ye’ll Have Had Yer Referendum…

  1. 55% in one direction isnt really decisive, it actually means that almost half the population is disgruntled…………….

  2. lizardyoga

    yes, but by decisive I meant that the result was clear. If it had been say 49% – 51% it would not have been a decisive result.

Leave a Reply

