Gone Girl Gone to Sunday Assembly

Last night I went to the Phoenix for the first time in ages, to see ‘Gone Girl’.  This crime thriller, adapted from a book by the author, is totally gripping and more than justifies the 2 1/2 hours of its length.  Starring Rosamund Pike (she played the boss’s wife in ‘Made in Dagenham’, remember?) and Ben Affleck, it features a missing wife whose husband is suspected of murdering her.  I won’t spoil the outcome or even the middle, just to say that even though I’d read the book and knew what was going to happen it completely held me from beginning to end.  Pike does a great American accent (she’s British) and Ben Affleck has just the right amount of seediness and internal sloppiness which are reflected outwardly in the fact that he never quite manages to shave.  So go and see this while it’s on:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2267998/

Then this morning I finally made it to the Sunday Assembly.  This ‘church without God’ has been going for a while: it’s an attempt to bring people together in singing, thinking, meeting and finally, eating together without the element of belief and worship that a religious ceremony entails.  I was a little wary as I thought it might be overtly atheist and hostile to religion, but there was none of that: instead there was some extremely vigorous singing, an interesting talk by a guy from Age UK (the theme of the session was ageing) a poem – the inevitable ‘Warning’ by Jenny Joseph, which everyone knows:

http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/warning/

– a couple of reflections, a moment of quiet and a ‘getting-to-know-you’ activity in small groups.  On the whole I really enjoyed it and was sorry I couldn’t stay for lunch: it did amuse me, however, that the first song was ‘If you’re happy and you know it.’  Blimey, I thought, it’s happy and clappy!’

Kirk out

 

2 Comments

Filed under film reviews, friends and family, God-bothering, music, poems

2 responses to “Gone Girl Gone to Sunday Assembly

  1. a religious meeting without religion? sounds interesting, and they feed you too? shame I normally either have to work or make faces at my grandaughter.

Leave a Reply

