I Might Or Might Not

Last night I was Struck by a Thought in the middle of the night, and for once instead of telling myself I’d remember it (I never do) I picked up my pad and by the light of the moon bouncing off the frost, I wrote it down.  In fact I wrote down two ideas – rarely do Ideas strike singly – and they were these:

It may/It might

Dress penis

Not only that, I was astoundingly able to make sense of them over my morning tea.  They both pertain to the novel, and the first is a dialogue that goes like this:

Leuka:  I may go to the party

Leon:  You mean, you might go to the party.

Leuka:  So – what you’re saying is, might is right?

The second refers to a time long, long ago when I was wearing an ankle-length dress outside on a hot day.  To avoid tripping over it, I had gathered it up in one hand, and as I was walking along I couldn’t help noticing that people were smirking and giggling.  I eventually twigged that the cloth I held in my hand resembled a pendulant* penis.  I guess you could say in a way that I was cross-dressing…

Which brings me to last night’s TV (last night on iplayer, not last night in the real world) and a programme called ‘The Boy in the Dress.’  This was an excellent and light-hearted drama about a cross-dressing boy featuring Tim McInnerny as a martinet of a headmaster and Jennifer Saunders as a French teacher with a terrible accent.  This was followed by ‘Still Open All Hours’ which is shaping up to be a terrific sequel to the Ronnie Barker sitcom featuring some of the original characters and some new ones and brilliantly written as ever by Roy Clarke.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04wtdl8/still-open-all-hours-series-1-episode-1

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04w7pgj/the-boy-in-the-dress

Kirk out

*Is ‘pendulant’ even a word?  Spellchecker doesn’t like it – but that spellchecker’s a curmudgeon.  He doesn’t even like the word spellchecker unless it’s hyphenated.

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under friends and family, novels and longer works

6 responses to “I Might Or Might Not

  1. I am sure I’ve used pendulant , it certainly sounds like it ought to be a word. I really enjoyed The Boy in the Dress too.

    • Sarada Gray

      It was fun, wasn’t it?  Light-hearted and not preachy From: “Lizardyoga's People” To: grayure@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Monday, 29 December 2014, 12:38 Subject: [Lizardyoga’s People] Comment: “I Might Or Might Not” #yiv9259866017 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9259866017 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9259866017 a.yiv9259866017primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9259866017 a.yiv9259866017primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9259866017 a.yiv9259866017primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9259866017 a.yiv9259866017primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9259866017 WordPress.com | | |

  2. hahaha, well, first of all Liz………some of us have come to the conclusion that crossdressing no longer can exist due to the fact that women have, yet again, stolen mens clothes so that there is the illusion of crossdressing. Since women now wear trousers all the time and nobody says they are trying to be a man, then also a man in a skirt cannot be assumed to be trying to be a woman. The Boy in a Dress tv show was funny, and poignant and the only real reason the boy put on a wig and a little makeup was to be able to wear a dress without having to explain it constantly. That of course went wrong and demonstrates that people just have to be themselves and not pretend to be somebody else in order to try to gain that emotional satisfaction. Gathering your long dress so that the fabric resembled a flacid, pendulous, penis would indeed cause laughter, but it leaves me wondering just how long the dress was and why you didnt simply raise the hem by lifting the fabric with one hand, on whatever side of the body it was on ( I sound like I know too much on this matter…………..hmm………hahaha). Open All Hours was never one of my favourites, so thats the end of that section…

    and thats

    THE END.

    • Sarada Gray

      I think it’s because I’m replying via email because on wordpress it insists that I am nineteenthly, even though I’m logged in to post my own blog!!!! Very annoying From: “Lizardyoga's People” To: grayure@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Monday, 29 December 2014, 12:43 Subject: [Lizardyoga’s People] Comment: “I Might Or Might Not” #yiv6122923474 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6122923474 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6122923474 WordPress.com | | |

    • Sarada Gray

      And as for women stealing men’s clothes, I guess we wouldn’t need to if women’s clothes had been more practical and less like a refined form of torture… From: “Lizardyoga's People” To: grayure@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Monday, 29 December 2014, 12:43 Subject: [Lizardyoga’s People] Comment: “I Might Or Might Not” #yiv6122923474 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6122923474 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6122923474 a.yiv6122923474primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6122923474 WordPress.com | | |

      • well, I dont like this new thingy on here, i get a bit of your reply to my reply and then lots of code……very irksome……..but the thing is, women have, down the centuries, stolen mens clothing and they have taken to adapting it to tortouse …torturous….whatever……delights. High heels ………….originally designed for Persian cavalry, so that they could stand in the stirrup to fire arrows and not slip off……discovered when they set up embassies in the west in order to gain allies. First worn by royalty, taken to 4 inches by Louis the umpteenth as he was a bit short, then gradually adopted by the court ladies. Where it fed down to other well do do ladies and so on. And of course, once the ladies are wearing it the men simply cant anymore as they have hangups…….i could go on………….and now, the ladies are wearing the trousers that they always maintained , and still do in general, are the only clothes allowed to cover male legs………its a chip on my shoulder and i wish i was german as they still wear tights as normal in many areas……you can actualy get male tights, with a fly, from germany………….im saving up ! heheheheheh, get the boiler checked out !!!

Leave a Reply

