Now is the Winter of Content

At the time of writing I have a deep sense of accomplishment, for this week I have not only finished  and sent off a short story about finding Richard III, I have completed my tax return!!!  Yes, it’s true.  It’s hard to say which of the two gives me more joy; the tax return because I no longer have to think about it, or the story because I’m happy with it.  Mind you, a short story is never finished, only abandoned (to paraphrase W H Auden) so there’s usually a sense that the poor thing has been sent out into the world half-made up.  Which, if you think about it, is appropriate…

http://nfs.sparknotes.com/richardiii/page_2.html  (line 21)

Now, you may not realise it, but I have also been hard at work preparing for you a blog-post on the subject of… compound verbs! Yes, I know you’ve all been waiting a long while for this one, but my researches have taken me deep into the heart of the media and evidence-gathering has been slow and painstaking.  But now it can be told: there is definitely a pernicious tendency to use compound verbs where nouns once served.

Let me give you an example:

Until recently, the person who managed a project was called a project-manager.  But recently for some reason it is not enough for these people to say ‘I am a project manager’ or even ‘I manage such and such a project.’  No, they must contract it and say ‘I project-manage’.  I guess they think it sounds more neat and snappy, more like something real and concrete – but to me it sounds awful.  Politicians and managers are some of the worst offenders and in this pre-election period the verb ‘to empty-chair’ has emerged, meaning to leave an empty chair where an absent politician would have sat.  And today I actually heard the manager of Poundland saying that in her stores customers ‘feel free to shopping-spree.’

I ask you!  Isn’t that every bit as awful as using ‘party’ as a verb?  I’m with Bernard Black on this one, when he says ‘don’t you DARE use the word party as a verb in this house!’

Quite right too.

To be fair, it isn’t all compound verbs that are offenders here.  Some of them are perfectly inoffensive and even snappy and useful:

to air-condition

to babysit

to test-drive

to short-change.

But I suspect that’s because these have all arisen naturally from a need to have something shorter and snappier.  Whereas the others arise out of someone’s desire just to sound more on top of things.

Over the next few weeks I shall be compiling more of these.  If you’ve heard a compound verb which has offended you, send it in to me here on this blog.

Keep listening, readers!

I’m off now to watch Charlie Brooker, so until next time –

Go Away

 

3 Comments

Filed under friends and family, politics, TV reviews

3 responses to “Now is the Winter of Content

  1. oh dear…………….sounding like MandMac……………lol

Leave a Reply

