FIFA-Fo-Fum

Well – I’ve been whizzing about in my stats for this blog and trying to understand these little columns of blue and the maps that go with them.  I admit to being a bit obsessive about checking my stats, as I guess most bloggers are (those of us who don’t have millions of followers, that is).  In the last year or so, they have ‘improved’ them, and like most improvements, it’s a mixed blessing.  Instead of giving you just the total number of views in a nice blue bar-chart, they give you another column in dark blue.  This indicates the number of visitors to your shores.  So, it’s like counting, say, the number of birds who visit your garden and then being able to identify each individual bird and discovering you have a lot fewer than you thought because you’ve got the same birds coming back again and again.

Now, I can’t decide whether that’s a good thing or not.  If I have, say, 100 views in a day but only 20 visitors, is that better than 100 different people coming and taking a quick look?  And what are these twenty visitors doing, leaving and coming back again an average of four times a day?

Whatever.  So long as the stats go up, I’m happy – although that does mean that when they go down I’m unhappy.  I just can’t seem to cure myself of the habit of looking at them.

Anyway, what I was really going to blog about was the news that broke yesterday about corruption in FIFA.  I couldn’t care less about football (incidentally, why do Americans say ‘I could care less’?  It makes no sense!!!) but my heart still sinks to my boots when I hear these stories.  Is everything up for sale?  Is everyone?

Maybe drugs were involved.  They were certainly involved in last night’s Drink and Think, although we got a bit stuck on currently illegal drugs and didn’t have much to say about legal highs as we don’t really know what they are.  We did touch on prescription drugs though and the good or harm that these do.

If you weren’t there, you missed it.  And a good pint of Holden’s mild, too.

Kirk out

3 Comments

Filed under friends and family, herbalism, money, philosophy

3 responses to “FIFA-Fo-Fum

  1. Is it that there’s “could” meaning “to be able” and could meaning “I really would like to do that” as in “I could eat ten bars of chocolate right now”? Re. FIFA can’t find the right words.

    Spock out

    • Sarada Gray

      Yes, but either way it doesn’t make sense. If you say ‘I couldn’t care less’ it means that you are not able to care less and that you don’t want to care less. But if you don’t care why would you want to care less? I’ve now thoroughly confused myself…

  2. Ruth C

    I’m a compulsive stat-checker too Liz – I really like your bird table analogy!

Leave a Reply

