Bye Bye Auntie

No more Auntie for me!  For as of today it is no longer legal to watch the iplayer without a TV licence.  To be honest I don’t think this is particularly unreasonable: the Beeb in her infinite wisdom puts nearly all her programmes up for viewing about ten seconds after they’ve aired, so you’re not really losing anything by waiting.  I don’t really know why they do that: it’d be fairer in a way if they left it for a day or so.  They’re sticking with the licence fee for now, although I think that’s going to have to change at some point: subscriptions seem to be the way to go.  Then again, I’m going to be house-sitting in a few weeks so I’ll be able to watch TV in that place.

We gave up TV years ago, partly because it was expensive and partly because our Home Edded children were watching far too much of it.  We were down to a few programmes a week and eventually this whittled down to two: Friends and Frasier.  Then first the engaging Friends and then the infinitely wittier and more intelligent Frasier ran their course and went plink.  And that was that.  The TV ariel socket was disabled so that we could use it to watch videos and nothing else, the licensing people sent us regular threatening letters but never actually came even though we begged them to come and look at our mangled socket; and we took to viewing endless back to back episodes of The Simpson’s.

And then we got a video camera!  The kids had hours of fun with this; as much fun as my sister and I had with our first reel-to-reel tape recorder, making spoof adverts and radio programmes and laughing endlessly at the sound of our own voices.

And now?  I don’t know.  There’s plenty on All4 which one may view for free; we have a large stash of DVDs and if the worst comes to the worst I can always read a book…

LOL

Anyway, I’ll leave you with my favourite ever episode of Frasier, the one where he and Niles lock themselves in a hotel room and try to write:

 

Happy viewing!

Kirk out

2 Comments

Filed under TV reviews

2 responses to “Bye Bye Auntie

  1. Instead of watching endless TV, at the weekends my school friend and I would make a pretend radio station… I still have some shows recorded on cassette 😀

Leave a Reply

