Count Arthur Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeak

WordPress has recently informed me that I’ve been doing this blog for nine years.  Well, who’d ha’ thowt?  When I started I had just two readers (outside of family members); now I have – oo, at least, erm – actually it’s hard to say because although daily views are quite low, on aggregate (as they say in football) it could run into – well, dozens at least.

Actually I try not to worry too much about numbers.  I used to check my stats obsessively each day and try to work out what was popular and why.  I failed utterly.  There’s no fathoming readership statistics so, rather than spend my whole life worrying about them, I try to be thankful I have some readers and just get on with writing about what interests me.  Because the whole reason I started this blog was to practise writing about a variety of subjects in order to improve both thinking and expression.  Readers are basically a bonus: comments doubly so.

Of course many people like and comment on Facebook, since the blog is linked to that particular medium, and these do not show up in the blog stats.

None of which has anything to do with today’s title.  So let us consider the mystery of humour.  Why do the things that make you laugh do so?  And conversely, why does some comedy leave you utterly cold?

Now, I’m on record (buried somewhere deep in this blog) as saying that Count Arthur Strong is just absolute rubbish.  It’s utterly lame, there’s only one joke which they keep plugging, the actor isn’t remotely convincing and it’s just awful.  In my book he’s basically Harry Worth for adults (you won’t remember Harry Worth unless you’re over 40, but he was fun if you were a kid.)

 

And yet, I know of several adults – educated, intelligent, thoughtful adults – who claim to like Count Arthur Strong.  I simply cannot comprehend it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b08r8dtk/count-arthur-strong-series-3-1-count-arthurs-house-of-horrors

Apparently there are people in the world who don’t laugh at Monty Python.  And they’re not the same people who like CAS eitehr.  Go figure.

Give me an evening of Victoria Wood any day:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b08qhn17/our-friend-victoria-series-1-6-fame

Kirk out

* PS OH says that his Maths teacher used Harry Worth’s shop window routine as an illustration of symmetry:

4 Comments

Filed under friends and family, TV reviews

4 responses to “Count Arthur Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeak

  1. Ha ha ha……….sorry I was just remembering something the Count said 😉

  2. As I’ve said I love both Monty Python and
    the Count! We’re all so complex, it’s quite possible to like all sorts of different things. I find some things un-funny but I’m not that bothered, whereas my husband detests some of the things that make me laugh and accusingly asks me why I like them. As a pleasant “compromise ” we watch mostly what he likes 🙂 I hardly dare ask what you think of Ricky Gervais lol I do love your blog btw!!!

  3. Sarada Gray

    Thanks Nina! My views on Ricky Gervais are complex: I think he’s very talented and I liked him in ‘Extras’ and ‘Derek’. However I don’t like The Office and similar things because I don’t enjoy comedy that makes me feel awkward. I like comedy to be a release

Leave a Reply

