An Odd Circularity

We have a house viewing this morning and since we are not conducting these ourselves, we need to be out of the house. This morning we went round in a flap (at least, I was in a flap, OH was somewhat calmer) cleaning and tidying and making sure the house looked presentable. Even though the virtues of this particular property are in its location and potential, it still helps to give a good impression. I remarked to OH that if we had frequent viewings the house would stay clean and tidy. ‘And that’s a good thing, is it?’ OH replied darkly. Anyway, the house is now relatively sping, as we used to say – a word we made up for when things are clean and sparkly. They say it’s a sign of a good relationship when you make up words together. Yes, they do say that, don’t they…

The reason for the circularity is that I’m back in the library. I could have sat in a cafe and blogged on my phone but we have to watch the pennies until the house is sold and besides the library has computers which make blogging a lot easier. It’s slightly irritating because you have to log into everything which means you have to remember passwords you haven’t used for months or even years. I tend to remember passwords by geological periods; if it was something I set up in the Pleistocene – ie when I first started using the internet – I’ll have one type of password; if it’s in the Jurassic I’ll have another, and if it’s in the Holocene I’ll have a third, more convoluted type, mainly because I ran out of ideas and because, as Dilbert observed, sometimes you need more than just letters:

imaged removed on request

I realise I haven’t explained the circularity. It has often been observed that life goes in cycles; we came to Loughborough just over seven years ago and when we came I had no space to work, no room of one’s own. We had a bedroom, but there was only just space for a bed and besides, it’s not good to work in a room where you need to sleep. Luckily the library was just across the park, so here I came every day from ten till about five. I brought a thermos and my laptop, which I used until the battery ran out; then I went to the park for lunch. In the afternoons I’d log on to the library computers for a couple of hours and then either read or write my diary. It was hard because you never feel the space is your own – but at least it was somewhere and I’ll always be glad I had that chance. After a while a Quaker friend offered me the use of a room so I went to her house a couple of days a week, which broke up the routine a bit. And now I’m back in the library and the house is on the market, so there’s a real sense of things coming full circle.

And that’s us up to date. Today I shall be mostly… wondering what the viewer thought of the house. I really must learn to chill…

Kirk out