Restore My Factory Settings

Once again I am blogging on my phone. I have managed to start the laptop and it has helpfully offered to reset itself.  All righty then,  I said,  I dare you to do it.  And it did,  pausing only to offer me a number of options I didn’t understand before setting off into the unknown.  It has now been resetting itself for half an hour and I don’t expect it to be finished before lunchtime.  So, the phone. I’ve never mastered typing with two thumbs though, not like the youth of today.  Speaking of which, we have just dropped our son off at the station for the first leg of his trip to America. I think his plane takes off about 4.30 so he’ll have plenty of time.

One reason I hate typing on this phone is that the bold function randomly turns itself off in the middle of a sentence, sometimes in the middle of a word!!! It’s very frustrating.

I see there has been progress on the laptop and it is installing things. So that’s all good. The little dots like ball bearings are going round and round and it is now at 7%. Not that this means much; we all know that it’s quite capable of getting to 99.9999% and staying there for hours.  It’s like the washing machine: it likes to taunt you as it stays on one minute for the entire evening.

Right. We’re back now. The laptop finished reinstalling stuff and I entered my password only to be told we’ve got some updates for you. This may take a few minutes. I gave a hollow laugh. Of course! What a fool I was to think that because it had finished reinstalling everything it had actually finished reinstalling everything. The screen sat there telling me this might take a while but I couldn’t see any signs of the things that were supposed to take a while actually happening. Maybe it’d take a while. Then of course once it was finished I had to set everything up again and it wanted me to use MS Edge. No thanks, I prefer Ecosia but they never give up although I had to use Edge to download Chrome and get Ecosia to piggyback on it.

https://www.ecosia.org/

So I start to download Chrome and Edge keeps popping up trying to stop me like a desperate host trying to stop you leaving a party. Bye bye, Edge.

The weekend was surprisingly busy: having received some feedback from the estate agent about a recent viewing, I dealt with some mould in the pantry and in a corner of the bedroom. Anti-mould spray is nasty stuff so I had to wear Daniel’s ventilator – a sort of turbo-charged face mask with slots for breathing. Then I needed to get some more stain block (I did it five years ago, so it lasts a good long time) from B&Q and some meths to clean the brushes because that’s the only thing that will; white spirit doesn’t cut it. It looks a lot better now. But we’ve been told there might be a problem with the drains, so next thing is we need to get those looked at, which is more money. But if it helps sell the house it’ll be worth it. After that Daniel and I went to the singaround which this time was in Mo’s garden, a lovely spot with lots of trees and sheds and summer houses and nooks and crannies. About 30 of us sat around under the trees and played and sang. Daniel and I did Perfect Day by Lou Reed and the Everly Brothers’ Bye Bye Love. It was fun. Sunday was supposed to be uneventful but after Meeting I discovered there was a business meeting so I stayed for that and then a friend wanted to talk about something so she took me to lunch and once we’d finished lunch Daniel came over to say goodbye before going to America and ended up staying the night.

I wonder if I can restore my factory settings? Would you – if you could?

Kirk out