A Holiday of Bank

What a bank holiday weekend that was! It started on Friday around lunchtime when, preparing for an evening at the Crow – I mean a night in with a discussion group on zoom – I noticed a little post on Facebook. ‘Is anyone interested in a free ticket to Withnail and I at Birmingham Rep tonight?’ it said. Was I interested? I bit the guy’s hand off, and two hours later I was on the train to Brum (you have to change at Leicester from here, which is a bit of a pain but there you go) arriving ‘into New Street’ as the announcers inexplicably say, where I paused to admire the Bull which had been a feature of the last Commonwealth Games (see pic below) before emerging onto a wet street ridged with tram lines. The trams are new since I was last there, and very impressive they are too, though I didn’t really have any use for one as I was just wandering around for an hour or two and hopefully finding a decent pub for a beer and a bite. Sadly it was cold and wet but I did indeed find a lovely little pub called the Sly Fox which had all the hallmarks of a traditional pub with some good grub and several real ales.

https://theslyoldfox.com/

I had a half of Butty Bach and a haloumi wrap, both gorgeous. After that I walked through the cold and drizzle to Birmingham Rep (I like walking through Birmingham; it’s a mixture of industry and grandeur and instead of trudging through the streets you get to walk through all the squares and admire the monuments). I arrived at the theatre and met the guy with the ticket. The performance was brilliant (see review below) though sadly I had to leave a little before the end to catch the last train or I’d have been stranded. I got home around midnight and of course didn’t sleep because I was so wired. Next morning we had a late breakfast at the pop-up vegan cafe in Fearon Hall (sausages, vegan bacon, beans, hash browns, tomatoes and mushrooms – gorgeous) and thence to the Singaround at its new venue in the church hall. I wasn’t too keen on the change of venue but there were beers available and I have to say it was a great afternoon. Then on Sunday after Meeting I went to Woodhouse Eaves Sustainability fair where I met a lot of people I knew and ate a vegan brownie before buying OH a Morsbag so that mine don’t go missing. Again. And yesterday we went to the May fair at Beacon Hill, run by Leicestershire Druids, where we got lost and ended up walking miles and missing the maypole dancing. After that the weekend caught up with me and I collapsed in a chair in the garden and didn’t move for several hours before the son came round with beers to revive me a little. And that was our Bank Holiday weekend. Hope yours was as good.

Kirk out

2 thoughts on “A Holiday of Bank

  1. Mine was the complete opposite. Long solo walks in very good weather, followed by doing absolutley nothing as we never venture out on Bank Holidays in Norfolk due to parking issues and crowds anywhere worth going. Instead, I went to Tesco on Monday afternoon and did the weekly shop. Such an exciting life!

    Best wishes, Pete.

Leave a comment