Coincidences

Life is full of odd coincidences I think; I was talking yesterday about a radio play wot I wrote which I had come across.  Then the following morning Facebook threw up a 12-year-old memory of this play, which I had totally forgotten.  I didn’t mention this but the play, a modern take on Dante’s Inferno, is triggered by a news item about the anniversary of 9/11.  The protagonist is asleep and dreaming but conscious enough to hear the early-morning news on the radio.  The entire dream in which he explores hell guided by a character from a BBC drama series, takes place in a matter of moments between sleep and waking.  Well: this draft of the play, though the content is quite good I think, needs a lot of reformatting, so to remind myself of the guidelines I went on to BBC writersroom which is the starting-point for anyone wishing to submit a script to the BBC.  I read through the guidelines and then I thought I’d read a script to give myself an idea, so I clicked on one of the two or three available.  It was called A History of Paper and was about a bloke who’d kept a box full of scraps of paper from a previous relationship.  It transpires eventually that she died in – guess where? – one of the Twin Towers on 9/11.  How’s that for a coincidence?

The current window for submissions isn’t up yet but I’ll try to get it in shape for then.  The BBC short story award is also open for submissions – and it’s free, with a first prize of 15k, so I shall submit something for that.  It’s all go round here… 

First of March today. White Rabbits.

Kirk out