A Dying Phone

My phone is moribund – not dead but very nearly so I fear. Its passing need not affect this blog but it does make me realise just how much I rely on it to communicate with others and generally organise my life. Yesterday the screen started flickering in an unprovoked and ominous way and last night it went completely white and unresponsive like a corpse. ‘That’s it,’ I thought, and prepared to take it to the shop where I was sure I’d be told there was nothing they could do for it and the kindest thing was to have it put down. But this morning just on the off-chance I plugged it in and lo! it rose again. It’s behaving itself at the moment but just in case of sudden death I’ve transferred my important diary dates into my paper diary and installed WhatsApp onto my laptop. This was a saga in itself; I googled the site and pressed the download button and then ‘install.’ It went through a lot of processes accompanied by cute messages such as ‘mashing the apps’ and ‘summoning the communication spirits’ which were amusing at first and then wearing, after which it confidently informed me that the app was on my start menu. It wasn’t. I scrolled up and down and checked all the options and I can assure you that it Definitely Wasn’t There. So as usual when all else fails I consulted the oracle and the oracle said, go to the WhatsApp web page. I did so and it was relatively straightforward; you just click ‘sync devices’ on your phone, scan a QR code and hey presto! everything’s transferred over. So that’s one problem out of the way, though when it actually does die I’m probably going to lose a lot of apps that are on the phone rather than the sim – and I have no idea what to do about that.

Today I have an appointment for a blood test to see if my thyroxine levels are behaving themselves, and then it’s back to the laptop-face to grind out some more words.

Kirk out