Meanwhile Here is Some Light Music

I’m trying to think of something positive to say. Meanwhile here is some light music… nope, it’s not happening. I’ve been trying to avoid the election results but they are unavoidable, inevitable as a Wimbledon defeat or the fall of a horse you backed. The one bright spark on the horizon is Scotland; if the SNP and other pro-independence parties win convincingly enough it may well lead to a second Indyref and if that passes – it’s a big ‘if’ but still if it does, there may be a chance of Scotland rejoining the EU.

It makes you wonder what would turn people against the Tories. Cuts to public services? Nah. Privatising the NHS? Meh. Threatening to control the BBC? Who cares? Taking education back to the Victorian age? Buying £800 wallpaper? Lying to parliament? Lying again and again and again and again and again? None of it made any difference. Add in a vaccine bounce and a large wodge of Brexit triumphalism, conveniently compounded by gunboat diplomacy off the shores of Jersey and the absence of UKIP and the Brexit Party – and you have yesterday’s terrible showing. Of course Starmer didn’t help; he’s been lacklustre in his leadership, to say the least, and failed to make any impression at all on large swathes of voters. If the SNP lose in Scotland I’ll be so depressed I might think about going to Spain again. Not that Spain’s any better politically, but at least it’s not my country.

How does one maintain hope? How do we keep going in the face of such a government and a people that by and large seems to approve of it? How do we carry on? Sometimes I wish I was one of those people who don’t even think about politics at all and barely know who the Prime Minister is. Such ignorance must be bliss at times.

And there it is. That’s all I can think of today. I’m sure I’ll be back with more next week but meanwhile here is some light music:

Kirk out