Snow and more snow

Ugh!  Holly didn’t go to college yesterday and it looks like she won’t go today.  I am feeling somewhat hung-over this morning, though I didn’t have a lot to drink yesterday.  Thanks to Peter for taking us to Mirch Marsala for a triple celebration – St Andrew’s Day, the end of my novel – and the anniversary of Mum’s death, which isn’t a celebration but you know –

So!  Finally finished the novel but hit a snag – the site wouldn’t recognise that I had 50K words even though according to my computer I had 50190 or thereabouts.  Turns out that Open office counts ALL your headers and footers etc so gave me 400 more words than I had.  Very frustrating and I’m afraid I resorted to some Molly Bloom-style ranting at the end because I just couldn’t come up with any more words.

Repeat with me:  ‘I will not mix the grape and the grain.  I will not mix the grape and the grain.  I will not…’

Not fair!  All I had were 2 halves of bitter and a maximum of 2 glasses of wine.

Ah, well.  It was good to see people and definitely did me good to get out.  Plus, it is always good to celebrate achievements.  There’s a photo of my Nanowrimo certificate on facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/album.php?aid=257698&id=558819755

So that’s it.  All the news that’s fit to print.  Today I shall be mostly… staying indoors as it’s bloody cold and snowy.  I shall be revising some short stories and marking some students’ work.  Oh, and tonight there is a meeting of writers who have done Nanowrimo, so I shall go to that.

Have a good one!

Kirk out